Posted in Life thoughts

When night shift ends..


My first night of not working at night and my eyes just won’t cooperate. Eyes wide open.πŸ‘€πŸ˜‚. I have never regretted my decision.I knew it was the right time to take a leap. My fiancΓ© is coming and the decision was just so perfect. Health is definitely something you should take care of. 

Working on a night shift  isn’t a piece of cake. It requires dedication and enthusiasm   I remembered, I was so excited when the position was offered to me.The schedule of working from 8pm to 5am .I thought it wasn’t a big deal since I am an owl. Haha.πŸ˜‚  The responsibilities entrusted  in me were challenging.  I had to check the teachers, make sure they are awake, help them become better and so on. 

Well, one year, two years were awesome. In some days, I had a good sleep, (when I say good that means I had 7-8 hours!! ) but other days were frustrating. I could endure the sleepiness and do my tasks at the end of each shift. Well, I was younger then.πŸ‘…

Last year, I noticed  and even my friends too, that my eyes looked tired (bloodshot) whenever we hang out during the day time. πŸ‘€ .I knew that as well  because my fiancΓ© sometimes tell me my eyes looked tired at broad daylight and turned red in the afternoon (like that of an old stock fish) hahaha. My eyes became dry and very sensitive to light,I couldn’t stare up the sky to see the sunrise because it was unbearable  and it really disturbed me.Another thing is, my skin became lighter!!  No pale is the right term!!  Haha. (you know, physically it didn’t boast my confidence ). I didn’t want to look older than my age!! 😁 I don’t wanna be a vampire!! 😩

Most of the old nightshift  teachers quit and are having  regular schedules already. I have read some articles about night shift health risks, it opened my  eyes and slowly convincing my stubborn mind that it’s time to change to a healthier workstyle. 

I will definitely miss the craziness of the night shift  teachers for the coming nights. The  boisterous laughters, the childish  ways to tease each other, interesting topics about life ,love, future plans, and anything under the sun and of course the food trip. Thank you for at least working on a night shift has been a page in my book of life. πŸ˜ƒ


For now, I want to do what most people do at night. SLEEP. 

 Are you working on a night shift?  Share you story. ☺️

~~ ciao πŸ’‹

Author:

An optimistic independent lass, whose dreams are greater than her fears. An ESL teacher. Adventurer. An amateur writer and a learner. ✌

One thought on “When night shift ends..

Leave a Reply

