Posted in thailand, TRAVEL

Phuket Old Town


Travel time: February 2, 2017

On the night of February second, my man told me we were going to PHUKET OLD TOWN. We had been renting a motorbike since day 1.I had no idea what I was going to see, but still I was excited.

Old Phuket Town, is historical town forming part of Phuket City. The main street of Old Phuket Town is Thalang Road and other roads are Phang Nga, Krabi, Dibuk, and Yoawarat. Old Phuket Town is noted for Sino-Portuguese buildings on both sides of the street. Many old buildings have been converted into shops, hotels, restaurants and museums.

~~ (Excerpt from Wikipedia )

It was quite far going there, from Patong where we were staying  however I didn’t mind it at all. I felt the cool breeze all over me, wishing I had brought a jacket. 😂

My man and his friend were using google map to locate the exact location and we even got lost. My Thai friend needed to ask a local to guide us to the street market.

Luckily, a woman offered to lead us there. According to my Thai friend the woman said ” I’ll take you there, follow me”. How kind of her. 😇

We parked our motorbike and thanked the Thai woman. I heard music and different sorts of noise. This is it!!!!

Crowded, isn’t it?! 😂  The place was pack with people of different  nationalities. There were food displayed by the vendors. There were teens playing instruments, there were a lot of shops if you want to buy something from hair accessories to footwear. 😍☺️🤗

I’ve only taken few photos because I was very busy looking around. 😂😂




My Thai friend tried her luck. It was like a wishing drum. Before you threw a coin, you make a wish. 😊👏

We ate in restaurant just behind some of the food stalls. It was a classy restaurant.As usual my man and other friends ordered the food. The price were so-so.Food was excellent.I just couldn’t  recall the name of that restaurant.



After dinner, we continued  walking around the street market. My man insisted I should buy something but it was so difficult to choose!! 😱😫😂😂. I ended up not buying anything except for some food. 😂

Some of the photos I’ve taken.


It was a wonderful night. I consider  myself lucky to have the chance to visit this place.

P. S: I happen to see the colorful house when our van stopped in one of the streets in Phuket town while we were on our way to the wharf for the island hopping.

 

FEBRUARY 5,2017

**We actually  had the chance to go back to Phuket Old Town.This time, we went to the market. The place is for shopping. 🛍  😍🤗 .There are a lot of shops which sold cheaper products than in the city. I wasn’t really in the mood to buy anything no matter how my bf insisted me to buy. Yet, while looking around, I remembered  I wasn’t able to buy my own souvenir  shirt, so I bought T-shirts  as souvenir.😉😋

After shopping, we stayed in a restaurant outside and ordered some refreshments ,when I suddenly was craving for green mango.  😂

I went inside the food market. I tell you, it would be very impossible not to buy anything there. 😂  Finally, I found the mango,not just one but different kinds.😂  The saleslady offered a good deal. It was like 3 fruits for 100baht.

How about you?Have you been to Old Phuket Town?

~~ Ciao ~~~~~

Author:

An optimistic independent lass, whose dreams are greater than her fears. An ESL teacher. Adventurer. An amateur writer and a learner. ✌

2 thoughts on “Phuket Old Town

Leave a Reply

