Posted in Life thoughts, TRAVEL

Encounter with Manila IO


Since tonight is my suspension  at work. (๐Ÿ˜‚  congratulations to me. ๐Ÿ˜‚  ) I just wanna share my Immigration experience in Manila for my Thailand trip last November 2015 and January 31-february 12,2017. It wasn’t actually my first time to travel abroad because I had a business trip in Japan last July 2014.

My fiancรฉ planned everything for that trip. He’ll meet me in Suvanabhumi airport. We were supposed to arrive almost the same time in Bangkok but my flight was delayed due to APEC. So he had to pick me up at the airport.

I have searched some travel tips to avoid being offloaded because i heard that some travelers are offloaded especially Filipina traveling alone.I thought it wouldn’t be easy for me as well. So i made sure i had some necessary documents ready in case the immigration officer would ask me questions .

Here are some of the things i prepared: 

** round trip  Plane tickets ( mine and my fiancรฉ )

** his round trip ticket from Italy to Bangkok

** hotel accommodation  in Bangkok

** i asked my fiance to take a photo of his passport

** screenshot of our Thailand conversation

** enough pocket money (in case of emergency )

**200% confidence. ๐Ÿ˜‚
November 19,2015..

I  went to the airport 4 hours before my departure time. Checked in and finally queued  in the immigration. As I was in line, I saw a woman on her twenties being interviewed  by an IO. My heart pounded, but i calmed myself.

Finally my turn has come. I gave my passport, round trip tickets and hotel accommodation  to the woman in the counter.

Woman: (checked my passport)How many days will be staying there?

Me:  13 days.

Woman:  will be alone?

Me:  i will be meeting my bf there.

The woman checked my documents again and called a man (feminine ) and said please check this. I knew then i had to be interviewed. I told myself to just calm down.

Woman: go to that table (pointing the place where some IO were sitting )

I sat down preparing myself for a battle.He handed me a paper to be filled out. After i filled it out. I gave it to him.  ๐Ÿ˜‚ He checked my documents. Here are the things/questions he asked:

~~how long have you been in a relationship with your bf?

~~ do you have a copy of his ticket? (i showed him my bf’s plane tickets including his round trip tickets for Philippines)

~~He asked for my bf’s passport number (of course i have it already)

~~ how many times did my bf visited me and about how many days.  (my fiancรฉ  have visited me twice at that time  and stayed for 21 days)

~~can you show me some of your photos? (i showed him our photos during my fiancรฉ’s first visit and second visit. Pictures with family and friends. )

I had fun showing our photos and he told me to wait. (he went inside the office holding the paper I filled in. He was actually writing more info about my trip there. I assume he was checking my fiancรฉ’s travel record. )

When he went out, he was smiling. And told me, “to go back to the window. And enjoy your vacation”. I was relieved and i couldn’t contain the excitement .I couldn’t help but smiled  from ear to ear like a child happily waiting for her ice cream. ๐Ÿ˜‚

PART 2

JANUARY 31,2017...

My second Thailand trip. My flight was in the morning, so I had to be in the airport earlier again. Still, i prepared the same documents i had like the first time, except for the hotel printed accommodation because the owner of the hotel is a friend. So our booking wasn’t done through booking sites (agoda, booking etc. ) So i was a little worried about it .My friends were telling me it would be okay as long as I show them the hotel address and it will be my 2nd time to be in Thailand.

So here’s what happened. There were only like 5 people waiting in line. When it was my turn the male IO asked for my documents. I was observing him while he was checking my passport and encoding something. He asked me when will I come back, i politely answered him as well. After that he stamped my passport!!  (hurray!!! ) .I took my documents back. It took only a couple of minutes that time. ๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿค—

Therefore i conclude the more trips you have outside our country, the lesser chances of being offloaded and of course enough documents and honest response to the IO.

How about your experience?  I’d love to hear your stories as well. Feel free to comment below.

~~ciao ~~

Author:

An optimistic independent lass, whose dreams are greater than her fears. An ESL teacher. Adventurer. An amateur writer and a learner. โœŒ

7 thoughts on “Encounter with Manila IO

  1. Haha true! Di ka pa nila ma bigyan nang refund for the ticket. Haha. Bangkok and Phuket! I’m really excited but now also scared about being offloaded. Might ask someone to come with me instead. Lol

    Like

  2. That’s interesting. I’d gone to thailand when i was 11, but only this year will i be going back (and alone!) i ever even though that we could get denied to go by our IO’s. This is interesting for me since we don’t even need visas to go to Thailand. Why is that? I thought everything would go smoothly for countries we don’t need visas for.

    Like

    1. Indeed.. I was afraid at that time.. Haha. I think in my situation when i went there for the first time was i had a sponsor, which is my fiancรฉ now. The IO just want to protect women from human trafficking or any violence..on my second time, it was smooth. So in your case you will okay..
      ๐Ÿ‘Œ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

